Googles new Trusted Contacts app lets you share your location in emergencies

With Trusted Contacts, Google is launching a new personal safety app for Android today that allowsothers to ping you for your location when they think you may have been in an accident or in danger.

The idea here is that you define who these trusted contacts are and by doing so, you allow them to see where you arewhen they ping you. The twist here is that you can always decline to share your location, but if you dontdecline the request within five minutes, the app will automatically share your location. If youre offline, itll share your last known location before your connection dropped.

If you find yourself in danger, you can also actively share your location with either select contacts or all of your trusted contacts as well.

No matter whether you actively decide to share your location or end up sharing it passively, you can always turn the sharing feature off again whenever you want to (otherwise, itll remain on for the next 24 hours).

  1. a_trans-1

  2. f_trans

  3. h_trans

The process of getting started is as simple as it gets: you download the app, select the contacts you want to trust, and theyll get an email with all the info they need to sign up for the service and get started.

I know that I often miss alerts on my phone, so this is probablya service where you want to be pretty restrictive about who you consider a trusted contact. Otherwise, your location may get shared more often that youd like. I can definitely see how parents would want to install this on their kids or maybe even their own elderly parents phones, though.

Read more: https://techcrunch.com/2016/12/05/googles-new-trusted-contacts-app-lets-you-share-your-location-in-emergencies/

Source: http://seo-consultancy-london.co.uk/2016/12/06/googles-new-trusted-contacts-app-lets-you-share-your-location-in-emergencies/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s